Fig Almond Toffee Bars

New Years has come and gone yet again. Last night, I celebrated by watching the fireworks at Boston Harbor with friends. It was fantastic, but I woke up today with a cold. Whenever I’m stuck at home I  get restless, so as a remedy I cook. I don’t start out with anything in mind–when I cook, it’s a haphazard affair. Luckily, most of my experiments turn out pretty well. People brave enough to try the final product are generally pleased.

Tonight’s pièce de résistance is a modified toffee bar recipe from cooks.com.

What You’ll Need:

– 1 package water crackers

– 1 jar fig butter (I used Trader Joe’s because that’s what happened to be in my refrigerator)

– 1/2 cup regular butter

– 1 cup brown sugar

– 1 cup diced toasted almonds

– 1 bar dark chocolate (I used Trader Joe’s 85% Dark)

Baking:

– Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Line a 9×12 pan with aluminum foil and line the bottom of the with crackers.

– In a small frying pan on high heat, whisk together butter, fig butter, and brown sugar until liquefied. Pour over crackers.

– Bake the pan in the oven for 3 to 5 minutes. (In the original recipe, it says the crackers should float. Because the fig butter is so viscous, they won’t so don’t worry about it).

– Take the pan out of the oven and break up the chocolate bar into pieces and scatter on top. Once it starts to melt, take a spatula and spread out over the top.

– Sprinkle the diced almonds on top and put in the refrigerator to cool then move to the freezer to harden. Once firm, slice into bars and take pretty pictures (if you’re into that sort of thing) and serve.

Here’s to kicking off 2013 with a kick-ass new recipe!

–Cassie

About CassieRMartin

I did science. Now I write about it.

Leave a Reply

